Flybird adjustable weight bench review

Flybird Adjustable Weight Bench FB149 Review (The Good, Bad, And What They Didn’t Tell Me!)

For the average person, the attractive price point of the Flybird makes it a popular weight bench contender. But is it a great investment or a pile of junk? Find out below, as I provide an in-depth review of the Flybird FB149 adjustable weight bench.

Overall, the Flybird is a good bench for beginners to intermediates. For a weight bench that’s under $150, it is durable, easy to use, and very versatile. However, due to the seat and backrest dimensions, it is not suitable for people over 6’2″ or under 5’6″.

You can find out what others say about the Flybird FB149 here (link for user reviews).

I’ve personally used and tested this bench for over a year. Although it’s awesome overall, there ARE a couple of points I feel you should know

Why?

Because I wish someone would have told me these points before I made my purchase!

Let’s press on with the review (get it?).

Use a bench with dumbbells to build chest muscle

Flybird FB149 Vs Competitors

Key Points: Flybird FB149 Adjustable Weight Bench

Here are the scores I would give the Flybird adjustable weight bench, based on personal testing.

MetricScore (out of 10)
Function8/10
Ease of assembly10/10
Ease of use10/10
Durability7.5/10
Stability and sturdiness7/10
Space-effectiveness.9/10
Comfort7/10
Looks8/10
Warranty 4/10
Value for money8/10
Overall score:7.9/10

Pros and cons summary.

Here are the pros and cons of the Flybird adjustable weight bench, based on personal testing:

ProsCons
Great value for what you get.Foot sleeves have a low grip.
7 FID angle adjustments and foldable.The backrest does not go to 90°.
Great for beginners.Backrest wobbles at a -45° decline.
Sturdy up to moderate-heavy weights.Paint is susceptible to chips and rust.
High weight capacity for the price.Faux leather lining is prone to creases.
Lightweight and low footprint.The footrest wobbles and the sleeve is not durable.
Easy assembly and use.Tall seat height is not suitable for people under 5’6″.
Comfortable for most people.A long and wide seat is not ideal for people with legs shorter than 90cm.
Flybird Adjustable Weight Bench Review - 1 Month Later | GamerBody
Balanced review by Gamerbody!

Flybird Adjustable Weight Bench: The Good, Bad, And Ugly

Here are the good and bad things about the Flybird FB149 adjustable weight bench.

Note: if you want to learn more about the reputability of the Flybird products, you can find can check out my other article to see my research into how good the Flybird company is.

What’s GOOD about the FB149?

Pros of the Flybird adjustable weight bench.

Here are the good points going for the Flybird bench:

  • Great value for money. It’s affordable, capable, and versatile for a sub-$150 bench.
  • Extremely convenient and space saving. The folded bench has a low foot print and can be stowed anywhere that has 2.5 cubic foot of space.
  • 7 FID adjustment settings. This is more than enough to hit all regions of the pecs and deltoids. Additionally, the declining seat adds further stability during incline bench press.
  • Perfect first bench for beginners. The variety of FID (flat/incline/decline) settings are more than adequate for beginners to intermediates to build a bigger chest at home.
  • Feels sturdy at low to modertely heavy poundages. The wide legs give this bench a good base for stability, whilst the heavy-duty steel frame can support heavy loads and take knocks. Don’t abuse it with 500+ pound bench press and you’ll be fine.
  • Great weight capacity for the price. 700lbs is more than what most people will ever need a bench for at home.
  • Light weight for it’s weight capacity. Weighing in under 30lbs, it is light weight and can be easily transported. Yet stability and sturdiness aren’t sacrificed too much either.
  • Easy assembly. Comes almost fully-assembled. It’s ready to use in under 20 minutes.
  • Comfortable for a mid-range bench. The low-density foam supports my weight well and has not warped in over 1 year of regular use.
  • Wide seat and backrest provides great support. This bench can accommodate bulky and skinny frames alike, and the wide width limits risk of slipping off during a lift.

What’s BAD about the FB149?

Cons of the Flybird adjustable weight bench.

Here are the bad points going against the Flybird bench:

  • Ineffective foot grips. They don’t provide enough grip when planting your feet strongly into the ground at a slanted angle in exercises like the incline bench press.
  • Backrest does not go to 90°. Not the biggest problem in the world (most benches don’t have this feature.) But it isn’t ideal if you like to use a bench to keep a straight back during the seated shoulder press.
  • Not the greatest decline setting. The backrest can have a slight wobble at a -45° decline.
  • Chipped paint can rust. Areas of high stress, such as the foot rest, is prone to chips and scratches.
  • Not everyone will like wide and long seat. The seat is longer than most benches and also gets even wider at the end. Not the best ergonomics for people with narrow hips and short legs.
  • Faux leather lining prone to wrinkles. This can be aesthetically unpleasing. Not a big deal for a bench at this price (most benches will wrinkle to some degree).
  • Can be unstable in certain positions. Applying heavy loads (>350lbs) to the head can cause the opposite tail to kick upwards.
  • Foam sleeve on the foot rest is not the most durable. A crack has formed in my foot rest after 1 year of heavy use.
  • Not suitable for commercial or outside use. The materials used in this bench are durable for indoor/garage gyms, but will become damaged by sun, rain, and/or heavy abuse.
  • Does not accommodate for people over 6’2″. The backrest is too short to comfortably fit taller people.

What I Wish They Could’ve Told Me About The FB149!

The seat and foot rest are not great on the Flybird FB149.

Being a mid-range bench, you’re to expect some cons along with the pros.

But there are 2 important downfalls that everyone should be aware of before purchasing the Flybird bench.

Here are the potential dealbreakers going against the Flybird bench:

  • The seat is unacceptable for people under 5’5″. From the reviews I read, I knew that the seat had a high ground clearance. And this is just about acceptable in the flat position. But at a decline, the seat sits even higher. So high in fact, that my feet can’t even touch the ground. However, I’m only 5’5″ and I don’t suspect this will be an issue for anyone over 5’6″.
  • Foot rest is wobbles. The foot rest comes unassembled and needs to be screwed onto the main frame. But right from the get-go, the foot rest never had a tight fit. Instead, it rocks left and right. Nothing has broken after a year of heavy use, but the paintwork around the securement point has chipped and started to rust. Not heard this issue from any of the reviews so I may have just been unlucky.

Detailed Spec Review For The Flybird Adjustable Weight Bench

Here’s a more detailed spec review for the Flybird FB149 adjustable bench and how the specs perform with daily use.

FB149 dimensions: 8.5/10.

At its core, the Flybird is a mid-range FID adjustable bench with folding capabilities.

Flybird FB149 weight bench dimensions when unfolded.

Here are the unfolded dimensions for the Flybird adjustable weight bench:

  • Length: 49.2″ (124cm).
  • Height: 44.5″ (113cm).
  • Width: 15.7″ (41cm).
  • Seatpad length: 15.4″ (39cm).
  • Seatpad width: 14.8″ (38cm).
  • Backrest length: 28.7″ (73cm).
  • Backrest width: 9″ (23cm).
  • Height from floor to seat pad: 20″ (48cm).

In the normal unfolded state, the bench is not the most compact unit in the world.

It’s actually quite tall, and this makes it look unstable.

However, the feet are also quite wide and this makes the bench more stable than it actually looks.

And having used it every other day over the course of the last year, I can say that stability is mostly great in all the FID positions.

But one thing you should know is that the seat is very high.

It measures 20″ from the floor to the seat (not 21″ as others have claimed).

And this makes it awkward if you’ve got short legs since you can’t keep them planted into the ground.

Go to my other article to find out how tall a weight bench should be!

Flybird FB149 weight bench dimensions when folded.

Here are the folded dimensions for the Flybird adjustable weight bench:

  • Length: 30″ (76cm).
  • Width: 16″ (41cm).
  • Height: 9″ (23cm).

The folding capability serves to be one of the biggest appeals for this bench.

In the folded state, it’s light, compact, and can be easily carried with one hand.

This makes the Flybird adjustable bench a great investment for small home gyms or if you train in a shared corner of the house.

When you’re finished using the bench, simply take out the safety bolt, retract the backrest/seat, and fold the bench along the middle.

This reduces the footprint of the bench by around 80%.

Now you can stow it away in a closet or under the bed!

If you’re interested in how the Flybird dimensions compare to its competitors, you can check out my other article which explores the average dimensions of 20 weight benches.

FB149 adjustment settings: 7.5/10.

Flybird FB149 weight bench FID settings.

Here are the FID adjustment specs for the Flybird adjustable weight bench:

  • 7 backrest FID adjustment settings: -45°, -30°, 0°, 20°, 40°, 50°, 85°
  • 3 seat FID adjustment settings: 0°, -30°, -45°.
  • Adjustment mechanism: a spring-loaded bolt secures the adjustment bracket.

As expected from any decent adjustable bench, the Flybird bench has a variety of FID adjustments for the backrest and seat.

The adjustment mechanism consists of a metal bracket that slides up and down the mainframe.

As it slides up and down, the backrest or seat also inclines or declines with the bracket.

The position is then locked by a spring-loaded bolt.

This mechanism feels smooth, it’s easy to use, and allows FID angles to be adjusted quickly.

Flybird bench incline settings.

The incline settings are generally good.

There are 4 backrest incline positions (enough for most people), and the securing bolt holds the backrest securely in the desired incline (there’s minimal wobbling).

However, the backrest only goes up to 85° for the seated shoulder press.

This isn’t that big a deal, since you can just decline the seat to create a 90° angle.

Flybird bench decline settings.

The decline settings are basic.

It’s limited to 2 backrest and 2 seat decline positions (again enough for most people).

But one issue I noticed is that the securing bolt doesn’t seem to hold the backrest securely at -45°.

Instead, the backrest wobbles in this decline position (especially when lifting heavy weights or generating a lot of swing momentum).

I’ve also heard that taller folks can struggle to fit on the bench in the decline position.

And that’s probably why Flybird recommends a max user height of 6’2″.

This isn’t an issue if you’re under 6’2″.

FB149 construction and materials: 7.5/10.

Here are the material specs for the Flybird adjustable weight bench:

  • Outer lining: synthetic faux leather.
  • Padding: 2″ low-density foam.
  • Frame shape: triangular.
  • Frame material: heavy-duty commercial steel.
  • Foot grip: plastic end caps.
  • Warranty: 1 year frame, 30 days pad.
Flybird FB149 adjustable weight bench build quality.

The Flybird bench features a triangular frame constructed mostly from rectangular steel tubing, except the legs which feature circular steel tubing.

This is not heavy gauge steel, but it’s still commercial-grade and heavy-duty enough to support up to 700lbs (as they state).

The edges are mostly rounded and safe, but you should be wary of a few inconspicuous nuts and bolts which can have small sharp edges.

Additionally, the steel is coated in glossy black paint.

This is not as durable as powder-coated frames and can be prone to chipping/scratching in areas of high physical stress.

But at this price, you can’t expect anything more.

Flybird weight bench leather finish.

The backrest and seat feature a 2″ low-density foam padding that’s lined with synthetic faux leather (not real leather as the website suggests).

The padding is very comfortable and provides great support as you lift your weights.

Additionally, the faux leather, whilst not real leather, is still durable for indoor use and provides a good grip.

One source of annoyance though is that the leather forms wrinkles.

This is more of a minor aesthetic rather than a major functional issue, but one you should be aware of nevertheless.

But in general, everything is welded and sowed to a satisfactory quality.

There are no obvious signs of bad manufacturing and you get what you pay for.

FB149 weight and maximum capacity: 8/10.

Here are the weight specs for the Flybird adjustable weight bench:

  • Weight of bench: 26lbs (12kg)
  • Max weight capacity: 700lbs (317kg).
Me bench pressing on the Flybird adjustable bench.

One striking feature about this bench is how light it feels for its weight capacity.

Flybird states that it can hold up to 700lbs (combined weight and body weight).

I’ve not yet tested it to 700lbs, but have regularly tested it to 400lbs throughout the year (250lbs barbell and 160lbs bodyweight).

The bench holds well at this poundage, remains sturdy, and is well balanced.

And I definitely don’t doubt Flybird’s 700lb claim.

Flybird bench plastic foot end caps do not have much grip.

Whether or not the bench is comfortable at 700lbs is another question.

I say this because the plastic end caps on the feet are not great.

They are supposed to provide grip, but I found them to be quite ineffective.

Rubber foot caps would have been much better in my opinion.

This is not an issue when lifting lighter weights, but the bench can rock and slide when inertia is applied at an incline angle (i.e. during a heavy incline bench press).

Exercise Review For The Flybird Adjustable Weight Bench

I’ve been using the FB149 for over 1 year now.

Here are my user-tested opinions on the bench’s performance during different exercises.

I tested the functionality, comfort, sturdiness, and stability of the bench and gave it a score, as well as a reason for the score.

Flat bench press: 8/10.

I’ve been regularly flat benching up to 250lbs (plus 160lbs bodyweight) on this bench. It feels comfortable and stable. It’s also well balanced and safe IF you bench press with good form (i.e. not wiggling and squirming as you try pressing more weight than you can handle). However, if you have short legs (<90cm from foot to hip), you may struggle to get a firm foot plant due to the height of the bench. This can be rectified by shifting your torso closer to the tail-end of the bench.

Incline bench press: 7/10.

Me incline bench pressing on the Flybird FB149.

Again, the bench is comfortable, sturdy, balanced, and safe during the incline bench press. But declining the seat raises your feet further off the ground. Again, this makes it impossible for people with short legs to get a firm foot plant. You can plant your foot on the footrest instead.

Decline bench press: 8.5/10.

The seat and backrest are wide enough to lay comfortably in a decline position. The foot anchor is also sturdy and allows you to hook your foot for support. But if you’re taller than 6 feet, your head may overhang the backrest in a decline position and bang on the floor.

Flat dumbbell chest fly: 8/10.

Me doing dumbbell flyes on the Flybird FB149.

I’ve been regularly doing dumbbell chest flys at 50lbs per hand with no issue. The bench feels safe and sturdy and works great with the Powerblock Elites (you can find the cheapest price here) The backrest is wide enough to provide great support and comfortably accommodates most torso widths. But it isn’t so wide that it restricts your range of movement as you perform the chest fly.

Check out my other article to learn how to choose the right adjustable dumbbells!

Incline dumbbell chest fly: 7/10.

See notes for incline bench press.

Dumbbell pullover: 8/10.

The backrest has a good length and this usually prevents the opposite end from rocking upwards during the dumbbell pullover. But rocking CAN occur if you’re doing pullovers with dumbbells heavier than 65lbs. The bench’s height works favorably for the pullover since there’s lots of room to get a good range of movement.

Seated shoulder press: 9/10.

Me doing seated shoulder presses on the Flybird FB149.

The seat is comfortable and sits low enough to be able to plant your feet on the ground for most people. But it can be too tall for people under 5’6″.

This isn’t a huge issue. I’m 5’5″ and just plant my feet on the foot rest. I find this to be more comfortable than having my feet dangle from the seat! The only issue is that the backrest won’t go past 85° so you never really achieve a fully upright backrest. This can be solved by declining the seat to create a 90° upright angle.

Incline dumbbell reverse fly: 7.5/10.

Doing reverse dumbbell flyes on the Flybird FB149.

The backrest is comfortable and sturdy as you lean forward during the incline reverse fly. But the plastic foot grips aren’t the grippiest, and the bench CAN shuffle forward if you swing your dumbbells upward too quickly.

Overall, the bench works great for this exercise. I combine the reverse fly with rows and pull-ups to hit all the muscles in my back.

The Flybird goes great with the Sports Royal Power Tower (see the reviews here) to create a complete yet cost-effective home gym setup for your back and chest.

Decline sit-ups: 8/10.

Sit-ups on the Flybird FB149.

Overall, sit-ups are safe and comfortable on this bench. My only niggle is that you’re sat quite high when the seat is declined. This feels odd at first, but it doesn’t take long to adjust to.

The bench is stable as long as you do your sit-ups in a slow and controlled manner with good form.

Elevated hip-thrusts: 8.5/10.

This is another exercise that works well with the height of the bench. You can get a great range of motion since the hips are set high off the ground.

Back extension: 0/10.

This bench was not designed to do back extensions, nor is it safe to do so.

Ideal Users For The Flybird Adjustable Bench.

You can see that the Flybird bench has an array of pros and cons.

Here’s a decision checklist to help you decide if the Flybird adjustable weight bench is right for you.

DO get the Flybird FB149 bench if:

Should you get the Flybird adjustable bench?
  • Between 5’6″ and 6’2″. Your legs will be long enough to mitigate the seat height issue, but you’re also short enough to fit comfortably on the bench.
  • Wider hips and longer legs. This allows you to sit comfortably on the wide seat and get a solid foot plant on the floor as you press your weights.
  • Light to average body weight (100-200lbs). You can lift an extra 200-300lbs of weight and still be within the maximum capacity of 700lbs.
  • Lifting light to moderately heavy poundages (up to 400lbs). This bench is great for beginner to intermediate dumbbell/barbell training.
  • Budget under $150. This is one of the best foldable benches in this price range.

DON’T get the Flybird FB149 bench if:

Who shouldn't get the Flybird adjustable bench.
  • Under 5″5. The seat is very high. You’ll struggle getting a good foot-floor plant.. Get a bench with a lower seat instead.
  • Over 6’2″. As per Flybird’s own recommendation, this bench isn’t designed for tall people. You’ll struggle to fit your torso onto the backrest in the decline position.
  • Narrow hips and short legs. You’ll find the seat to be uncomfortable and your feet will struggle to reach the ground.
  • Heavy body weight (250+ lbs). The bench can handle 700lbs but you won’t be able to lift heavy weights safely if you’re already a heavy heavy person. Get a bench with higher max weight capacity instead.
  • Lifting heavy poundages (anything over 500lbs). Get a non-foldable bench which has a higher max weight capacity.
  • Powerlifting. The bench sits too high for most people to maintain a solid foot plant during the bench press. Get a lower bench and one with higher weight capacity instead.
  • Looking for a commercial bench. This bench feels sturdy and durable, but it’s not a premium bench. Don’t expect this to feel like the ones you find in a commercial gym.

If you’re training at home with dumbbells, you may be interested in my other article which explains whether or not you need a bench for your dumbbells.

Is The Flybird Adjustable Weight Bench Easy To Use?

If you’re a beginner who’s starting to warm up to this bench, you’re probably wondering how easy it is to use.

Short answer?

Very easy.

Setting up the Flybird FB149.

How to assemble the Flybird weight bench.

The bench came as a single box, contrary to others who received it in 2 boxes.

It was well packaged and comes nearly fully assembled.

All you have to do is unwrap the bench, screw on the footrest, and insert the safety pin.

Easy to carry and no assembly required, takes 30 seconds to set up! 

Flybird.

This takes less than 10 minutes (not 30 seconds as claimed by Flybird), even without reading the instruction manual.

It’s also a good idea to use a 7mm hex key and 11mm spanner to make sure all the screws are tight.

This process takes another 10 minutes.

It’s not essential to do, but just good safety practice.

How to use the Flybird FB149.

How to fold the Flybird weight bench.

To fold the bench, simply take out the safety bolt and fold the bench in half.

It’s that simple.

How to decline and incline the Flybird adjustable weight bench.

To adjust the FID angle on the bench, you pull on the spring-loaded bolt and slide the backrest/seat to the desired position.

Again, simple.

You can see the full Flybird FB149 adjustable weight bench instruction manual in my other article!

Is The Flybird Adjustable Bench Worth Getting?

Now let’s decide if the Flybird adjustable weight bench is worth buying.

I’ll give my opinion and also other user opinions.

What others say about the Flybird FB149 bench.

Here’s what other users have to say about the Flybird adjustable bench.

I’ve compiled reviews from the Flybird website, Amazon, and Reddit.

Flybird FB149 adjustable weight bench reviews on Amazon and Reddit.

96% of users on the Flybird website gave it 5 stars.

This should obviously be taken with a huge pinch of salt, seeing as it’s the manufacturer’s own website.

69% of users on Amazon gave it 5 stars.

Amazon reviews are more reliable. The majority of reviews are very positive, with less than 5% of users giving this bench less than 2 stars.

One of the features i like most about the bench is the range of available adjustments. Overall, this bench has been a great buy for me.

SM_Lags, Amazon.

My opinion: I agree. Whilst the Flybird bench isn’t the most heavy-duty bench on the market, it’s still great value for money and one of the best foldable benches you can get.

Twice it gave way underneath me with minimal weight. Would not recommend this at all. 

Michael Lazaro, Amazon.

My opinion: I‘ve had no issue with the bench buckling on too much weight. Nor have the majority of other user reviews mentioned this. Maybe Michael was unlucky with that particular bench, or he didn’t have the safety bolt inserted properly.

50% of users on Reddit would recommend.

This was a small sample size (6 people), but still worth sharing.

Approximately half of the guys on Reddit thread 1, Reddit thread 2, and Reddit thread 3, would recommend the Flybird FB149 adjustable bench due to the foldable convenience.

From those who wouldn’t recommend it, the most common reason was that it doesn’t feel stable at heavy weights.

If you’re training for strength or powerlifting (regularly bench pressing over 400lbs), then go for a heavy-duty bench!

How the FB149 compares to the other Flybird benches.

The FB149 isn’t the only adjustable weight bench from Flybird.

So which Flybird bench is the best?

In general, the FB149 is the best Flybird bench. The FB149 is only $15-25 more than the other Flybird benches. But it is more compact when folded and has a heavier maximum weight capacity compared to the other Flybird benches. And this makes the extra cost worth the money.

Here’s how each Flybird bench compares:

SpecFlybird FB149Flybird FB139Flybird Adjustable Bench With Waist Pad
Unfolded Dimensions (LxWxH)49″ x 16″ x 44.5″42.4″ x 15.1″ x 42.3″42.3″ x 15.1″ x 42.4″
Folded Dimensions (LxWxH)30″ x 16″ x 9″32.1″ x 15.1″ x 15.7″32.1″ x 15.1″ x 15.7″
Weight26lbs22lbs21lbs
Max Weight Capacity700lbs600lbs600lbs
Frame MaterialSteelSteelSteel
Padding2″ low-density foam2″ low-density foam2″ low-density foam
FID Adjustment3 seat angles and 7 backrest angles.4 seat angles and 6 backrest angles.4 seat angles and 6 backrest angles.
Price$145.79$129.79$119.89
Average User reviews4.5/5 4.5/5 4.5/5

The Flybird bench with waist pad is essentially the same as the FB139. And having tested the FB139, I can definitely say the FB149 is much better.

You can find out exactly why I think the FB149 is the best Flybird weight bench, here.

How the FB149 compares to competitor weight benches.

The FB149 isn’t the only foldable adjustable weight bench on the market at its price point.

In fact, there are a few other alternatives.

So which weight bench is best?

In general, the Flybird FB149 adjustable weight bench is the best foldable adjustable weight bench. It only costs $5 more than its closest competitor, the Joroto bench. But the Flybird is more compact when folded, is lighter, and has a lower seat height compared to the Joroto.

Here’s how the best foldable adjustable benches compare:

SpecFlybird FB149Joroto Adjustable BenchKeppi Adjustable Bench
Unfolded Dimensions (LxWxH)49″ x 16″ x 44.5″55″ x 22″ x 45″48″ x 15″ x 44″
Folded Dimensions (LxWxH)30″ x 16″ x 9″32.6″ x 22″ x 9.4″32″ x 15″x 10″
Weight26lbs30lbs26lbs
Max Weight Capacity700lbs700lbs600lbs
Frame MaterialSteelSteelSteel
Padding2″ low-density foam2″ low-density foam2″ low-density foam
FID Adjustment3 seat angles and 7 backrest angles.4 seat angles and 8 backrest angles.4 seat angles and 8 backrest angles.
Price$145.79$139.99$127.32
Average User reviews4.5/5 4.5/5 4.5/5

In many ways, the Flybird F149 and Joroto benches have similar specs.

But the extra perks of the Flybird make it worth the extra 5 bucks in my opinion.

One thing to mention is the warranty period.

Both Flybird and Joroto only provide a 1-year warranty.

If you’re looking for better peace of mind, then the Keppi bench provides a 2-year warranty.

You might be interested in my other article which examines how good the Flybird bench is compared to competitors.

Best Place To Buy The Flybird Adjustable Weight Bench.

Great, so you’ve decided to go for the Flybird bench.

Where’s the best place to buy one?

Whether you’re from the USA, UK, or Canada, the best place to buy the Flybird bench is from Amazon (click here for the cheapest current price).

It can sometimes be marginally cheaper on the Flybird website as they have flash sales every so often. But I found their site to be buggy, and it’s virtually impossible to get hold of their sales department.

Based on my experience contacting the company direct, I wouldn’t want to be in a position where I needed their support should I ever need to utilize the warranty.

Therefore I recommend paying the extra 10 or so bucks to buy from an Amazon seller that can be easily reached.

Besides, Amazon offers free shipping, unlike the Flybird website.

Go to my other article to find out how much a weight bench should cost!

Final verdict:

I’ve provided you with an in-depth review of the Flybird FB149 adjustable weight bench.

Overall, it provides great value for money for most people.

It’s ideal for beginners, intermediates, and casual bodybuilders looking for an affordable mid-range bench to improve their physique at home (whether that be to build muscle, get stronger, or tone).

I would highly recommend it for light to moderately heavy dumbbell/barbell training.

The reviews are generally great.

But if you’re on the shorter (under 5’6″) or taller (over 6’2″) side, you should choose a bench with more suitable dimensions. The Fitness Reality Supermax 2000 (click here for the reviews) is a fantastic alternative for short and tall people

Additionally, heavier individuals (over 250lbs) or those looking to lift heavy barbells (over 400lbs) would also benefit from choosing a more substantial bench (I recommend getting a non-foldable adjustable bench).

For everyone else, this is a reliable and comfortable bench.

Although this bench comes with its unique flaws (along with perks) you have to take it for what it is.

It’s supposed to be a bench that’s both affordable and convenient for home gyms that lack space.

And it fulfills this role very well!

Will YOU be buying the Flybird bench?

Let me know in the comments!

You may also be interested in the downloadable Kalibre Blueprint PDF which details exactly how I gained 40lbs of lean muscle (it’s 100% free!). It details the exact exercises and nutrition I used to go from skinny to ripped!

Thanks for reading guys!

Peace Out,

Kal

(Biochemistry BSc, Biomedical Sciences MSc, Ex-Skinny Guy)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.